The Board of Governors at Fulneck comprises ten people, from a variety of backgrounds, who provide experience in a range of areas including marketing, finance, legal, education, property and surveying, religion and the environment. In addition, there is a significant range of business expertise within the Governing Body. Governors are unpaid volunteers who give their time generously to support the School.

The Board of Governors meets six times a year as part of the following committees:

  1. Education Committee
  2. Child Protection, Welfare and Boarding Committee
  3. Finance and Estates Committee
  4. Risk and Compliance Committee
  5. Business Development Committee

Governors have a number of key roles and responsibilities. They discuss and agree the School’s vision and aims for the future, making sure that pupils receive a first-class learning experience. Governors have to ensure that the School remains financially secure and that it operates within its charitable status. They support the Principal and the Senior Management Team in building on the School’s success both in academic terms and in providing excellent pastoral care.

Governors serve for five years and they can offer themselves for re-appointment at the end of this period.

Fulneck School Governing Body

Name Committee(s) Job title/position company
Mrs Lesley Jordan Chair Twenty years experience of working within the charity sector, including close work with a number of children's charities. Lesley was a pupil at Fulneck Girls' School between 1968 and 1976.
Mr Chris Stern Vice-Chair Former owner and Managing Director of C J STERN (OILS) LTD, retailers and wholesalers of fuels and lubricants. Chris was a pupil at Fulneck from 1955 to 1962 and has been a governor since 1990.
Mr Charles Smith Risk and Compliance Committee (Chair) Chartered Surveyor ,now retired with experience in undertaking surveys, valuations and estate management of propertyfor both private and financial sectors. I have been actively involved in several conservation projects within the Tong/ Cockersdale district.
Miss Carrie Pearson Risk and Compliance Committee Qualified as a barrister in 2007 and in 2012 subsequently qualified as a solicitor. Carrie practices as a solicitor at DWF LLP, specialising in complex, unusual and fraudulent insurance matters. Carrie is also heavily involved in Scouting in Yorkshire. She was a pupil at Fulneck from 1989 to 2003 and became a Governor in 2017.
Rev Robert Hopcroft Education Committee Robert is originally from Staffordshire and studied in Newcastle Upon Tyne. In 1971 he went to teach in Labrador, Northern Canada and over the next six years he became School Principal and Supervisor for Special Education for 13 schools. He was ordained as a Minister in the Moravian Church in 1980 and was later elected as a member of the Provincial Board and Trustee of the Moravian Church. He served as Chairman of the Provincial Board 2006-2014 and President of the World Wide Unity Board 2012 – 2016. Since his retirement in 2018 he has lived in Pudsey.
Mrs Elizabeth Dawson Education Committee Liz Dawson is a leadership and wellbeing coach in corporate and school settings. She is also lead coach/verifier of the Carnegie Centre of Excellence for Mental Health in Schools, School Mental Health Awards. Liz is a former secondary school deputy headteacher and an LA leadership consultant. She is a past pupil of Fulneck school.
Mr Peter Acton Business Development Committee  
Mrs Hilary Kernohan Child Protection, Boarding and Welfare Committee Hilary is a solicitor with 30 years experience. Having obtained an LLB from  Sheffield University and studied for her Law Society Finals at Chester Law School she moved to Leeds in 1991 and went on to practice for many years in the field of Insurance law  . More recently she has been heavily involved in Paralegal and Solicitor Apprenticeships. Hilary also has experience in the education sector at BPP Law school where she was both tutor and careers advisor for a number of years. Hilary lives locally and both children attend Fulneck school.

To contact the governing body

Ms Lesley Jordan (Chair of Governors), Fulneck School, Fulneck, Pudsey, West Yorkshire, LS28 8DS

Tel: 0113 257 0235 Email:

To contact the proprietor

The Provincial Board (PEC), in being elected at Synod, are elected as Trustees of Fulneck School

Tel: 0208 8833409 Address: Moravian Church House, 5 Muswell Hill, London, N10 3TJ

© Fulneck School